2022 Sharkskin ‘Ocean Roar’ IRB Premiership Series

Competitions, Free Events, Sports, Results

This is the Sharkskin ‘Ocean Roar’ IRB Premiership Series, held in 4 rounds across 4 different locations.

There are 4 rounds in this series:

Round 1: Saturday 7th May at Bribie Island

Round 2: Saturday 21st & Sunday 22nd May at Tugun SLSC

Round 3: Saturday 4th & Sunday 5th June at Broadbeach SLSC

Round 4: Saturday 18th & Sunday 19th June at Mooloolaba SLSC

 

A high-octane event, inflatable rescue boat (IRB) racing has a large following in Queensland. As competitors from clubs around the state fight it out for surf rescue supremacy.

Aside from the thrills of the competition, the event is a real reinforcement of lifesaving skills. The races are all about simulating rescue situations and testing the abilities of drivers and crew as they’re transferred to a competitive setting.

Ocean Roar is the dedicated IRB competition series, featuring four rounds of competition throughout the season with each round attracting about 300 competitors.

The competition works on a cumulative point-based system with the winning team awarded the Premiership Title at the end of the series.

This event is a popular precursor to the SHARKSKIN QLD IRB Championships, which sees over 300 competitors go head to head in the pinnacle event of the season.

More details to come.

Event Dates

07
May
Saturday 7 May 2022

Round 1: Bribie Island
21-22
May
Saturday 21 May 2022 - Sunday 22 May 2022

Round 2: Tugun SLSC
04-05
Jun
Saturday 4 June 2022 - Sunday 5 June 2022

Round 3: Broadbeach SLSC
18-19
Jun
Saturday 18 June 2022 - Sunday 19 June 2022

Round 4: Mooloolaba SLSC

SHARKSKIN is Surf Life Saving Queensland’s Surf Sports Event Partner and official ‘Naming Rights Partner’ of the Ocean Roar IRB Premiership Series ‘SHARKSKIN Ocean Roar IRB Premiership Series’.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter