Awards of Excellence 2019

Lifesavers from across the state have been recognised at Surf Life Saving Queensland’s (SLSQ) Awards of Excellence Gala Ball in Brisbane last night (August 24).

The hard work and passion of the state’s volunteer surf lifesavers and lifeguards was celebrated at the event, which aims to honour those who have gone above and beyond to protect beachgoers.

Moore Park SLSC member Lynne Messer was named Lifesaver of the Year for her extensive engagement in the movement and leading by example in everything she does for the red and yellow.

A patrol captain, club captain, chief training officer, registrar, treasurer and branch director of lifesaving, Lynne is focussed on growing a good culture not only within her club, but the wider organisation.

Lynne said she was proud of the achievement, especially coming from a small club with just 23 patrolling members.

SLSQ Chief Executive Officer Dave Whimpey congratulated all award winners, saying the recognition was well-deserved.

“On behalf of SLSQ, I extend my congratulations to the evening’s winners. We rely heavily upon the efforts and enthusiasm of our members to help keep our beaches safe,” Mr Whimpey said.

“While all surf lifesavers and lifeguards across Queensland do a fantastic job, both on the beach and out in the community, it’s important that we recognise and pay tribute to those that go well above and beyond the call of duty.

Membership Awards

Awards of Excellence 2019

Complete Table
U14 Breaka Junior Surf Lifesaver of the Year Maeka Free Southport SLSC
U18 Junior Surf Lifesaver of the Year Lily Tindall Noosa Heads SLSC
U21 Young Surf Lifesaver of the Year Zoe Breitkreutz Arcadian SLSC
Andy Frizzell OAM OBE Award Janita Henwood Miami Beach SLSC
Youth Development Club of the Year Metropolitan Caloundra SLSC
Community Education Program of the Year Albatross Nippers Nobby’s Beach
Award Name Club

Surf Sport Awards

Awards of Excellence 2019

Complete Table
Junior Athlete of the Year Jamie Perkins Maroochydore SLSC
Youth Athlete of the Year Lani Pallister Alexandra Headland SLSC
Masters Athlete of the Year Kristyl Smith Northcliffe SLSC
Rookie Coach of the Year Melissa Cracoft-Wilson Kurrawa SLSC
Rookie Official of the Year Craig Burchill Hervey Bay SLSC
Rookie Official of the Year Stuart Marshall Coolangatta SLSC
Team of the Year Krankiz - Open Female Surf Boat Crew Northcliffe SLSC
Team Manager of the Year Stephen Fry Northcliffe SLSC
Professional Coach of the Year Kurt Wilson Currumbin SLSC
Volunteer Coach of the Year Trent Rowe Northcliffe SLSC
Peter Lacey Athlete of the Year Georgia Miller Northcliffe SLSC
Ron 'Boppo' Tallon OAM Official of the Year Mick Lafferty Maroochydore SLSC
President's Cup Alexandra Headland SLSC
Award Name Club

Lifesaving Awards

Awards of Excellence 2019

Complete Table
Lifeguard of the Year Rowan Simpson Sunshine Coast
Operations Support Person of the Year Jill Hamilton Sunshine Coast
Trainer of the Year Belinda Doman Coolangatta SLSC
Assessor of the Year Derek Baldwin Tallebudgera SLSC
Volunteer of the Year Craig Law Sunshine Beach SLSC
JLT Club of the Year Tweed Heads & Coolangatta SLSC
Surf Lifesaver of the Year Lynne Messer Moore Park SLSC
Clive Hammond OAM Award John Hamrey Point Danger Branch
Award Name Club

Lifesaving Excellence Awards

Awards of Excellence 2019

Complete Table
Nicole Lowe & Allana Buck On 25 December 2018, Nicole and Allana performed an outstanding rescue of two young boys - and their father - who were caught in a rip and were being taken out to sea at the Mouth of Wild Cattle Creek.
Max Tapp On the 12th of July 2018, while on holidays, Max used his resuscitation skills on a male person who had collapsed at a Currumbin Boat Ramp.
Gillian Fleming, James Fripp, Archer Shields, Zyah Timpano-Hair, Matilda Yates, Roger Dibden & Brett Beutel For the successful resuscitation of a male who was pulled from the water in an unresponsive state on the 11th of August 2018.
MJ Bates & Brook Gregory On the 2nd of September 2018 - in deteriorating conditions and a swell of 3-4ft - MJ and Brook conducted successful rescue & resuscitation of one patient - and the rescue of another patient - from the vicinity of the South Gorge Point Lookout.
Thomas Cervi On October 15th 2018 - while off duty and surfing, Thomas noticed a male unconscious and in trouble. After numerous attempts to get him up the rocks - assisted by 2 other Lifeguards and the public – the unconscious male was eventually pulled up the rocks and CPR was performed.
Logan Specht, Alex Langenberg & Anna Prasek On January 1 2019, Logan was alerted by a member of the public that someone was in danger off Frenchmans Beach. After alerting Pt Lookout surf lifesavers of the situation, Logan grabbed the rescue board from his vehicle, ran down Frenchmans Beach cliff face, paddled out to the patient who was floating face down, unconscious and unresponsive. With the support of Alex and Anna in the IRB, the patient was recovered and CPR was performed.
Recipients Incident

Other Awards

Awards of Excellence 2019

President's Medal Kerrie Barnes Point Danger Branch
Award Name Club/Branch